A dollar a day

Almost half the world’s population lives on less than a dollar a day.

Sobering thought…and it makes me wonder when I whine that I can’t buy a certain pair of shoes or can’t go on a particular holiday, can I do more? What is my responsibility to these fellow inhabitants of earth. Can I give more – should I give more? At what point can I say I am comfortable and that my income is now “excessive”. If people are living on a dollar a day, is my $3 sandwich an excessive treat – that’s before I even consider the 3 course meal I am contemplating for valentines.

As individuals we tend to look for reasons not to give
– can’t afford it
– don’t know who to give
– aid agencies spend most of the money on admin
– I have my own needs
Whatever the reason, I do feel challenged. Half the world lives on less than what I pay for a packet of small crisps, or one hour parking on a quiet street. I am sobered by the thought. I am grateful.

This entry was posted in General musings, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A dollar a day

  1. Stan Rodda says:

    I have been challenged by the same thoughts. I need to be more pro-active about finding opportunities and ways to serve. For me it usually hits me when I buy a $5 mocha from Starbucks. After I start to realize what that adds up to, I think about all the water that could have been bought or children that could have been saved. I have a love/hate relationship with Starbucks. =) Great post! Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

